THE KNOWLEDGE FEED

Pages

At the Libraries: The 10 Best Illustrated Children's Books

Miss Kathleen

Every week, Miss Kathleen provides links to a variety of stories about libraries, authors, and books.

Rare Art From the Genius Behind Calvin & Hobbes

Colin Patrick

Fans of Calvin & Hobbes will delight in this all-encompassing fan site – which includes among its many treasures a collection of rare art by the strip’s brilliant creator Bill Watterson.

TONIGHT: President Obama on MythBusters

Chris Higgins

Tonight at 9pm ET/PT: The MythBusters tackle, once and for all, the "Archimedes Solar Ray" myth!

A Short History of Long-Haired Music: Amadeus, Part 3

David K. Israel

If you missed our previous installments, check out A Short History of Long-Haired Music

Rare Portraits from the Civil War

Ransom Riggs

As many of you know, I'm an old photo nerd. (By which I mean, I'm a nerd for old photos, not ...

Fuzzy Math: How College Football's Champs Were Chosen

Ethan Trex

The BCS pairings have been announced for this year’s football season, so here’s a question for you college football nuts: what NCAA school claims the most football national championships?

Brain Game: Two for Two

In  each numbered entry below, repeating the same two-letter sequence in the first two blanks and the last two blanks of the entry will form a six-letter English word. Can you figure them all out?

Morning Cup of Links: Disneyland Graveyards

Miss Cellania

The 25 Greatest Internet Memes of 2010.

The Late Movies: It's Grammy Time

Mark Arminio

The 2010 Grammy nominations were announced last week.

The Quick 8: Eight Monetary Misprints

Stacy Conradt

You may have heard that a batch of new $100 bills was recently misprinted (and if you haven’t, check out #1).

Afternoon Giveaway: Ninjabread Men

Jason English

Welcome to day two of our week of giveaways from UncommonGoods! Today you're playing for a set of Ninjabread Men, which would certainly liven up your dessert table.

Inside the Surprisingly Delicious World of Cat Food Taste Testing

Matt Soniak

Cat food is serious business. Taking underutilized and low-value raw materials like animal byproducts and turning them into high-value foods can be, not surprisingly, very lucrative.

Dating Your Blood

Meghan Holohan

The CSI franchise makes it seem like detectives only need a few drops of blood, some saliva, or a strand of hair to close a murder investigation within 24 hours.

Donald Duck on the Futility of Nuclear War

Chris Higgins

In 1952, Disney released the 7-minute cartoon "Applecore" featuring Donald Duck and Chip 'n Dale, the mischievous fast-talking chipmunks.

Creatively Speaking: MeetingBoy

David K. Israel

Read on to win a new Meeting Boy wall calendar! We have a nice interview/contest today with someone you need to know about if you don't already.

Pages